Entries in Wagga to Albury (16)


Winter racing.

"What's happening with racing?", you ask. Good question!!

Here is a list of the programme for the next few months. Some events are certain, others could change. And we have some potential new dates, too. But this is the current info.

27 May: club race on Bethanga circuit. Meet at the Bethanga pub from 2pm, ready to race from 2:30pm
17-18 June: Wangaratta Tour, hosted by Wangaratta Cycling Club.
24 June: club race from La Trobe University, Wodonga.
30 July: John Woodman Memorial Wagga-Albury Cycling Classic.

(There might be another La Trobe handicap in mid-July to tune up for the Wagga-Albury. The famous Dirt Berg will be back! And even more ideas are out there ...)


Wagga to Albury 2016 Results

Results from John Woodman Memorial Wagga to Albury Classic. Well done to everyone especially Ken Payne and Greg Featonby who put so much into the organising of the race. Payney almost got up for a local win.

1st Tony Crawford (29 minute bunch) Cobram-Barooga CC 3hrs 13min 26 sec
2nd Brent Nicholls (29min) Wangaratta CC
3rd Ken Payne (29min) Albury Wodonga Panthers CC
4th Dean Holgate (29min) Wangaratta CC
5th Adrian Hamilton (29min) Wagga CC
6th Tim Schilling (29min) Albury Wodonga Panthers CC

Fastest Time - Jacob Kaufmann (Scratch) Manly Warringah CC 2hrs 49min 65sec
1st Female - Taryn Heather (17min) Mildura-Coomealla CC
1st Under 19 Kayden Jeffries Echuca-Moama CC
1st Albury Wodonga Rider - Ken Payne

Intermediate Sprint Culcairn - Male - Brent Nicholls
Intermediate Sprint Culcairn - Female - Taryn Heather


John Woodman Memorial

Wagga-Albury Cycling Classic, 31 July 2016

Sign up for this classic race
Sunday 31 July is race day. Close of on-line entries is this week (Wednesday 20 July). Register via this Cycling NSW link

There's plenty of information out there about the race. I'll limit myself to two links. Here is the dedicated web page for the race. And here is the Strava page of the race route.

Our sponsors love the race
We interviewed two sponsors of the John Woodman Memorial event about their connection with the race. Below is what they had to say.

Stephen Kilpatrick, The Full Cycle of Albury.

Peta Stewart, Peta Stewart Coveyencing.


John Woodman Memorial Wagga to Albury 2015

Sunday 26th July will see 29th running of theJohn Woodman Memorial Wagga to Albury. Put over to the race website for all the race details. There also a link to the race website on the top right of this website. Entries are being taken via the CNSW website.

If you can help out with marshalling for the event can you please email markdunlop@live.com. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated. 

For spectators the race finish at approxmately 1:30pm at the corner of Urana Road and Hague Street Lavington. Come on down watch what's usually an exciting bunch sprint finish.


Wagga to Albury 2013

Unfortunately an Albury Wodonga rider couldn’t make it three from three wins this year, but it was great to see affable Baden Burke from Canberra Cycling Club kicking from the bunch to win the John Woodman Memorial Wagga to Albury Cycling Classic. He even gave a very PRO victory salute. With a Northerly pushing the bunches most of the way, only limit and 2nd limit came together with just a few hundred metres to go after our own Lisa Barry lead a late attack up Jindera Gap. Video of the end of the race (thanks to Chris Little).

Today's results:

1st: Baden Burke Canberra CC (2nd limit)
2nd: Paul Logan Sunbury CC
3rd: Adam Jones St Kilda CC
4th: Peter Telford Cootamundra CC
5th: Alexandria Nicholls Canberra CC (First limit rider)
6th: Craig McMillian Lavington CC

Fastest time: Nicholas Yallouris  St George CC in  2hr52mins

First female: Alexandria Nicholls Canberra CC

First under 19: Alexandria Nicholls Canberra CC

First Wagga Wagga rider: Scott Gill Wagga Wagga CC

First Albury Wodonga rider: Craig McMillian Lavington CC

Culcain Sprint: Scott Gill Wagga Wagga CC

      The situation with 500 meters to go. AWCC's Lisa Barry and Damien Christian in the remenants of the Limit bunch that got caught with about 250 meters to go. So close!


Winner, Baden Burke Canberra Cycling Club.


Fastest time winner Nicholas Yallouris from Sydney's St George Cycling Club. He finished in 2hr52mins, the fastest finishing time since 1995. The average speed was 47 km/h.


First female and first under 19 winner Alexandria Nicholls from Canberra Cycling Club pictured with Peta Stewart, who sponorsed the first female prized. All the best to Alexandria who is off to Italy in September trying to win a rainbow jersey for Australia in the women's under 19 road race at the World Championhips.


A big thanks to our sponsors The Full Cycle, Albury City, Peta Stewart Conveyouring, Hume Building Society, Mass Nutrition Wagga, Culcairn Foodworks, Traffic King, Quantum Printing and Powerlab.

Special thanks to Jack Woodman's family, Albury SES, St John Ambulance, NSW RTA, NSW Police, City of Albury, City of Wagga Wagga, Hume Shire Council, Commissaires & handicappers and all of the hard working volunteers

Well done the race committee members Rohan Christmas, Tom Barry, Ken Payne, Greg Featonby, Micheal Olive and PJ Meredith who did all the hard yards behind the scenes.