Entries in road racing (74)


Club Race

Saturday the 22nd of April at La Trobe on Mckoy St
1:30pm sign on
2pm Start
$5 entry
handicap 30-50km

See you all there!


2016 Race Calendar


Giro della Bellbridge

Giro della Bellbridge 2015 Results

1. Jesse Featonby
2. Tim Guy
3. Tully Lyster
4. Evan Franzke
5. Tomarsh Loki
KOM Jesse Featonby
Field 16

1. Eli Beach
2. Brad Rose
3. Marcus Warner
4. Wayne Hildred
5. Will Silver
KOM Eli Beach
Field 20

1. Daniel J Addison
2. Brian Harris
3. Mitch Harrison
4. Gary Halloran
5. Maddy Wright
KOM Daniel Addison
Field 9


Bethanga Interclub

A stunning day greeted the 20 hardy souls who lined up across A grade, B grade and C grade.
It would be hard to find a more idyllic setting than Bethanga for bike racing and, notwithstanding the foul-tempered magpies on course, the riders were greeted with perfect conditions. A grade hit the bitumen first with high expectations of the interlopers from Wang. Tully Lyster has been dominating local TT's for years and is always dangerous. Tomarsh Loki is an up and coming climber who was going to be almost impossible to control on the uphill run to the finish. Mt Beauty was well represented by the canny, and always dangerous, Tim Retchford. AWPCC had heavy hitters Hutchins, McMillan, Sims and Hamblin to fly the flag. The ride of the day was unquestionably local Ryan Clifford who attacked first time up the climb and held the bunch off until 5km to go. He then had the wherewithal to hang on to 4th position. It is great to see Ryan stepping out of the shadow of his famous wife. Just after Ryan was caught, strongman Lachlan Hutchins attacked and got a solid gap. Like an old mare with the scent of the stable in his nostrils he was not to be stopped. He powered on and maintained his gap over a chasing group of Tomarsh Loki and Tim Retchford to take a well deserved win. In B grade there was a solid mix of locals and 'ring-ins'.
It was a war of attrition out on the very undulating course, and anyone not in top condition was sure to be found out.

The group stayed relatively together on the first of 3 climbs with Mark Dunlop leading over the top quickly followed by Chris Howard (Wang), Eli Beach (new AWPCC member and race debutante), Brian Harris, with the cagey Tony Reeckman (Wang) hanging tough on the back. Reeckman was the punter's favourite coming of a last start victory a mere week ago. Youngster Josh Bankes and guest rider Natalie Kerwen (NZ) were just off the back with the pace proving a little hot.

Things really began to get sorted out on the 2nd lap with some clear gaps being created and signs of distress appearing on the cyclist's faces. It all came together for the front group of 5 on the descent back to Bethanga.
Eli Beach proved the strongest on the difficult final climb to take a great win in his first race. His prize for the victory (beyond the not insignificant $20) will be an immediate promotion to A grade! Brian Harris proved the best of the chasing bunch taking a solid 2nd placing and Chris Howard making the trip up the Hume worthwhile and completing the podium in 3rd.

What C grade lacked in numbers they made up for in quality. 4 athletes toed the line and 4 finished 2 laps later. The hill was brutal to the bunch and split them up early. Gary Harmer proved to be very strong and took a clear win.

A big thank you to our marshals - Alan Luckie, Frank Loki and Tony Egan (who created a TDF feel with his family around the back end of the course). Thanks to commissaire Lynn Heritage- we couldn't run these races without people giving up their time so thanks very much. Special flag waving duties were undertaken by young Hamish Retchford who showed considerable talent with the chequered flag!



Spring Racing

Racing returns next Sunday the 20th of September at Bethanga for the Albury Wodonga round of the North East Interclub Series. We'll be riding a graded scratch race on our famous 'Championship Loop'. Sign on is at Bethanga Pub 9am for a 10am start and you can enter on the day.

The number of grades depends on number of participants. A grade will race 4 laps of our 16km Championships loop, B grade 3 laps and C grade 2.