Entries in crits (31)




The AWPCC Criterium series is about to start up once again out at the DECA Wodonga Tafe course at Albertson Rd, Barnawartha this Wednesday 10th October, and continue each Wednesday night.

Cycling Australia also have a deal where if you don’t have a racing licence and you sign up after 1st October 2018, you get 15 months for the price of 12 months (licence until 31.12.2019). This is a great way to get good use of your racing licence with a chance to do 9 criteriums on a 2019 licence before 2019 even arrives!!! To register, click here

http://membership.cycling.org.au/ (to become a member of the Albury Wodonga Panthers Cycling Club you would choose Cycling Victoria).

For anyone who has a MTBA racing licence, you cannot race with that but Cycling Australia offer a discount to MTBA licence holders when you sign up for a road racing licence.

Alternatively, a 3 race licence can be purchased online here

For insurance reasons, you cannot race without a licence. Cycling Australia also require any riders in a road race in Victoria to have a non-flashing tail light on.

The DECA Wodonga Tafe course is a closed race circuit 1.5km in length with a hot mix surface.

Sign on is from 5:30pm to 5:55pm. An entry fee of $7 for anyone who wants to race. Please don't bring a $50 note. Something smaller is much easier to give change for.

Between now and Christmas time, some great Border business like Urban Graze and Bakers Delight have come on board to supply the winners of each grade with some vouchers.

B Grade – start at 6:00pm and race for 35 minutes plus 3 laps.
D Grade – start at 6:01pm and race for 20 minutes plus 2 laps.

A Grade – start at approx. 6:45pm and race for 45 minutes plus 3 laps.
C Grade – start at approx. 6:46pm and race for 25 minutes plus 2 laps.

Juniors start at 6:01pm with D Grade.

All grades are mixed male and female

Albury Wodonga Panthers Cycling Club is a friendly welcoming club. Anyone wearing a blue AWPCC shirt or cycling kit on the day would be happy to meet you answer any questions. So come and have some fun and make some new friends.


Double Dixon



$1K Crit Series

1K crit series, brought to you by Lester & Sons

Consistency wins
Come for any one of the seven week series.
But this is a series: points accumulated to final winner in each grade. And all who ride for at least 6 weeks are in the draw for the 1K, provided by Lester & Son Funeral Directors. They love contributing to community (just wait for special news about upcoming social events for Paris-Roubaix and the Tour de France ...).

Look at all the other sponsors: each week a different sponsor will provide extra value to the night's racing. They're all worth supporting.

The mix of grades will change a little from 14 February. The reason: safety.

Racing from 6:00pm - B grade, and D grade, and juniors.
Racing from 6:30pm - A grade, and C grade.

This will mean passing each other is quicker, and give a longer gap between the two (or three) races finishing. Please pass it on, especially to B GRADE.

$5 per week for grades A, B, C, D. Juniors: FREE.


2018 Racing

The AWPCC is proud to presentation jam pack racing calendar for the first half of 2018. Highlights include Lester & Son 1k Crit series and Geoff Memoiral Handicap and supporting criteriums.

The club's races can be found here. Also check out the regional racing calendar for a full list of bike races thoughourt the region.


Criterium championship review.

Tonight we had the Club Championships Criterium for 2017 with free Ashlar Woodfire Gourmet Pizza's thanks to sponsor Ken Payne Painting and Decorating. Huge numbers turned out with B grade and C grade boasting their largest numbers since we started racing at the DECA course 15 months ago.

Winners for tonight's race were

A Grade
1st Tim Guy
2nd Angus McLean
3rd Matt Clarke
Club Champion Neil Van Der Ploeg (4th)

B Grade
1st Simon Crawford
2nd Mark Norden (Club Champion)
3rd Michael Stevens

C Grade
1st Ben Andrews
2nd Stephen Hanley
3rd Doug Rose (Club Champion)

1st Oliver Smith
2nd Max Holgate
3rd Liam Wilcox

The Crit series we've been running has been accumulating points each week for the first 5 across the line. The winners of the overall series are as follows

A Grade
1st Dean Holgate
2nd Neil Van der Ploeg
3rd Angus McLean

B Grade
1st Simon Crawfprd
2nd Murray Crawford
3rd Matt De Freitas

C Grade
1st Aidan Hogan
2nd Kerian Plunkett
3rd Jerome Rusty Scholz

1st Liam Wilcox
2nd Max Holgate
3rd Oliver Smith

Special mention to Andrew Falconer for being our Commissaire for the series and his time.

After racing and presentations, everyone stayed back and enjoyed some amazing wood fired pizza. Thankfully by then the temp had dropped significantly. The great thing about a local club is that we are all friendly. Everyone moved about talking with each other.

After a short break over christmas and New years, the Crits will resume from Jan 3rd. There was also some exciting news tonight about our "1k Crit series" starting on Wednesday 21st Feb 2018. No matter what grade you race in; A, B, C, or D grade, if you start 6 of the 7 crit races in this next series (21st Feb to 4th April each Wednesday night) your name will go into a draw and the name pulled out of the hat will win........$1000!!!

So enjoy yourself over the Christmas/New Year break, and come back and join us in 2018 for some racing fun and a chance to win.