« ITT Fun Times. | Main | The World Famous Dirtberg »

Dirt Berg 2013

A strong field of 23 riders assembled at Bethanga in perfect conditions for the Annual Dirtberg Handicap. There were strong climbers in each bunch and the competition promised to be fierce. Winners from the previous two years Paul Ingwersen (scr) and Stephen Damm (2:30) were present to try and get their names on the trophy for a second time and Lisa Barry added some quality hill climbing credentials to an already strong field. The limit group with a 9 minute advantage over scratch looked hard to beat on the short 21km course but anything could happen on long uphill run to the finish. Scratch worked well from the start as did the limit and the 5 min group. The likely winners looked like coming from this bunch as the block group containing Lisa Barry and Stephen Damm began to splinter within the first 6km. By the time riders hit the final 8k dirt section all groups except scratch were splintered and it was Stephen mowing down all the front markers while trying not to get caught by the remnants of the scratch bunch (Andy Kaye, Declan Gregory and Ryan Allen). In the end Damm sprinted over Robbie Storey (St Kilda CC) in the last 200m to win with Rob Belsher 3rd. Andy Kaye (scr) won fastest time.

1st Stephen Damm (41:05)
2nd Robbie Storey (St Kilda CC)
3rd Rob Belsher
4th Zac Drury
5th Rohan Christmas 
6th Andy Kaye (FT - 40:29)
7th Chris Little
8th Declan Gregory
9th Ryan Allen
10th Mark Dunlop
11th Adam Farrugia
Commissaire - Geoff Damm, Marshalls - Glen Jarvis, Tom Barry, Lyn Heritage

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>